Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Candidates File for Multiple Government Positions


The filing deadline passed this week for candidates seeking spots in various governmental bodies, but candidates’ signatures still need to be verified by today’s deadline.

The biggest change will occur in Moriarty, where longtime mayor Ted Hart – he’s finishing up his third term -- has decided against seeking another stretch.

That leaves current city councilor Steve Anaya running against Brandon Webb, whose family owned the old Chaparral Turf Farm east of Moriarty.

In Edgewood, three commission seats are up for grabs and all three incumbents are seeking re-election: recently ousted Mayor Audrey Jaramillo will face challenges from Patrick M. Milligan and Colin Joseph Clausen for her District 3 seat.

In District 2, Jerry Powers will vie with Holly Christine Jaramillo and in District 5, Sterling Donner is challenged by Michael John Peters, Douglas B. West and Mary Elizabeth Kozik.

Here are the other candidates in other contested seats of local interest:


Jennifer Leigh Logan, Christina L. Estrada, Clayton Gardiner


Soil and Water Supervisor; David W. King

Soil and Water Conservation Board; Mark B. Anaya, Lewis J Fisher, Wendy Ann Lossing,


Mayor; Victor Gallegos

Trustee at large; Steve C. Guzman, Corine A. Perez, Elias Sanchez,


Trustee at large; Irena Gwendolyn Moser, Amy Lynn May

Estancia Municipal School Board

At-large; Ashley D. Romero, Heather Marie Hedges, Sarah E. Lucero


City Councilor at-large; Kimberly Delynn Garcia, Timothy R. Oden, Jeremy Anthony Trujillo, W. Brent Myrick

Moriarty-Edgewood Public Schools Board

District 2; Denny Alan Young

District 3; Dawn Lynette Kent Middleton, Jeffery Alan Lossing, Lacey Shante Hites

District 4; Albert Chavez, Dorothy Encinias-Pachta

District 5, Kevin Reid Scott, Lyndsi Kaye Donner


Councilor at-large; Ernesto Lopez Jr., Annette A. Padilla, Bernadette McMahon, Gayle Ann Jones

Municipal Judge; Carlos McMahon

Mountainair Public School District Board

At-large; Victor R. Romero, Ramona L. Medina, Ray F. Sharbutt, Darrell W. Roberts, Kristin Marie Kimberly Oliver


School Board Member

District 4; Roman Tiger Abeyta

TIJERAS Mayor; Jake E. Bruton, Gloria J Chavez

Councilor; Yvette Garcia, Ernest C. Barnes


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here